Background of The Corn Exchange

Biggar Corn Exchange is a Grade B listed building which was originally built in 1860 and was opened in 1861. The building is built on the site of the old Meal House and has been a major landmark in the town since its construction. When the Corn Exchange was built to replace the old Meal House as a grain market it failed to achieve the expected success. Consequently the building became a popular venue for dancing and entertainment. It was gifted to the Biggar Burgh Council in 1935.

This facility has been used for many years as an amateur theatre. The Corn Exchange is a unique historic building occupying a commanding site in the centre of the town.

It is acknowledged locally that the Corn Exchange has an attractive historic legacy which contributes significantly to the unique character of Biggar High Street, which is why it is so important that it is preserved and maintained to serve future generations of local people and tourists visiting the town.

It is currently leased to Biggar Corn Exchange Ltd. from South Lanarkshire Council as a Community venue.

Background of Biggar Corn Exchange

The Corn Exchange closed for refurbishment in October 2009, and re-opened in October 2010.

Further details of the refurbishment can be found here

Further details of the history of this iconic building can be found here

Copyright 2017 | Biggar Corn Exchange
Biggar Corn Exchange Ltd is a registered charity and has Gift Aid status. CHARITY NUMBER: SC032641 REGISTERED COMPANY: SC368706
Cookies | Privacy | How to Buy | Cart